A perhaps unconventional Father’s Day message

Dear Reader,

Today, June 15th, is Father’s Day. A day where children celebrate the men that raised them, and show them their appreciation through gifts as the convention dictates.

It is a day filled with cheap gift sets and chocolates, #1 DAD mugs and slippers that are all intended to be representations of our love for our fathers, as if presenting them with a badly wrapped pair of socks will magically show them how grateful we are for their indispensable role in our lives. Today is supposed to be a happy day.

But, due to the way life works, some people find themselves without fathers, or with fathers that do not build a family up but instead break a family down with bad habits and abusive natures. And for these people, Father’s Day is far from happy.

Don’t get me wrong, I am one of the lucky ones, raised by two parents that both love and support me (rare as these kind of parents seem to be these days), but I can’t help feeling sorry for those that aren’t so lucky.

For those that live in constant fear of the man that should protect them but instead puts them in danger, for those that have now lost the man they once idolised – I am so sorry that you have to be subjected to the custom of Father’s Day, where you are reminded so starkly and painfully of your predicament. I find it almost insensitive that, as a society, we feel it necessary to have a day dedicated to flaunting our fathers without consideration for those less fortunate – it almost seems as as if we are purposefully “showing off”.

I am aware that this seems to be a very odd topic for me, a young person from a loving family with a full set of perfectly healthy parents, to be discussing, but I know people who are in both of the aforementioned situations . One person in particular whom I deeply respect and admire has only very recently lost their father and I cannot imagine the pain they are currently suffering, especially on this Father’s Day. My heart goes out to you.

So to those for whom Father’s Day is not the happy day society sees it as, my thoughts are with you. I am sorry for whatever pain you may be experiencing, and I hope you can find peace. I send my love to you all.

Lots of love,
a friend

Leave a Reply

